Skip to main content

SHIRP: Mental Health

Homepage for the Saskatchewan Health Information Resources Program (SHIRP)

Mental Health


  • APA Online Assessment Measures Patient assessment measures developed to be administered at the initial patient interview and to monitor treatment progress.




Below are some of the databases available through SHIRP. To access all of our databases, click on SHIRP Databases A-Z

SHIRP has over 300 e-books. Use the search box at the top right of the page to search for a specific title. TIP: Use double quotation marks (" ") around two or more words from the title. e.g. "Harrison's Principles"

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry 3rd Ed 2019

DSM-5 ® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis

DSM-5 ® (Manual) 5th Ed 2013 

Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry 9th Ed 2009

DSM-5 ® Clinical Cases

Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans 9th Ed 2013

SHIRP has over 1,600 journals available in full text. Use the search box at the top right of the page to search for a specific title. TIP: Use double quotation marks (" ") around two or more words from the title. e.g. "adolescent mental health"

American Journal of Psychiatry Journal of Affective Disorders
British Journal of Psychiatry Journal of Development and Behavioural Pediatrics
JAMA Psychiatry Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease
Summarized information on conditions, diseases, topics, interventions is readily available to help you save time when looking for answers to clinical questions.



  • CADTH Reports - provides objective evidence to help make informed decisions about the optimal use of health technologies, including drugs, diagnostic tests, medical, dental, and surgical devices and procedures

Mental Health / Addiction / Anxiety Disorders / Bipolar Disorder / Dementia / Depression / Learning Disorders / Schizophrenia / Suicide




  • Portico - Canada's Mental Health and Addiction Network - a platform containing tools and resources that can be used in everyday practice. Contains information from a variety of clinical mental health facilities and networks and includes disorders quick reference, treatment methods and approaches to care.
Loading ...

Rural Dementia Action Research

Of pressing need in health care, rural dementia care demands the attention of health care providers, researchers, and policy makers. The RaDAR Team at the University of Saskatchewan seeks to improve the delivery of rural dementia care, from early detection and diagnosis to end-of-life care. 

Find out more at the Rural Dementia Action Research website.

Request an Article

If an article you want is not in the SHIRP collection, we can get it for you free of charge from another library.

Request an Article

Contact Us

SHIRP Office's picture
SHIRP Office
Contact:
Leslie and Irene Dubé Health Sciences Library, University of Saskatchewan,
104 Clinic Place, Saskatoon, SK S7N 2Z4
(306) 966-8290