Skip to main content

SHIRP: Indigenous Health

Homepage for the Saskatchewan Health Information Resources Program (SHIRP)

Indigenous Health

"Cultural safety [or cultural competency] within an Indigenous context means that the educator/practitioner/professional, whether Indigenous or not, can communicate competently with a patient in that patient‘s social, political, linguistic, economic, and spiritual realm" (Cultural Competency and Safety: A Guide for Health Care Administrators, Providers and Educators, National Aboriginal Health Organization, Ottawa, 2008, p. 4).

The following are some organizations that provide insight into Indigenous cultural competency.

Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association 

Canadian Nurses Association

The Indigenous Cultural Competency Training Program (Provincial Health Services Authority in B.C.)

Southwest Ontario Aboriginal Health Access Centre

The Virtual Museum of Metis History and Culture

The Saskatchewan Indian Culture Centre

 Searching for Indigenous Health Articles in Databases

For a comprehensive search, both keywords and subject headings should be used. Relevant subject headings include, but are not limited to:

MEDLINE CINAHL Psycinfo

Alaska Natives

Eskimos

Alternative Medicine

American Native Continental 

Health Services, Indigenous

American Indians

Ancestry Group

Indigenous Health

Alaska Natives

Health Services, Indigenous

Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous Populations

Indians, North American

Medicine, Native American

Inuit

Inuits

Native Americans

Medicine, Traditional Traditional Healers  
Databases

iPortal  is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available material, however some resources are licensed and may only be available via interlibrary loan.

A major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.

Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.

A resource providing information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

E-Journals

An interdisciplinary journal honoring the voices, perspectives and knowledges of First Peoples through research, critical analyses, stories, standpoints and media reviews.

Addresses issues such as health, educational attainment, development social issues, etc., pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world.

Specializes in circumpolar health and health of indigenous peoples. For researchers, policy makers, practitioners, and those they serve.

Established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health, this journal seeks to bring knowledge from diverse intellectual traditions together with a focus on culturally diverse Indigenous voices, methodologies and epistemology

 

This course is intended for health services staff who are not medically trained, as well as students interested in or already engaged in health science education. Enhance your ability to understand Indigenous history and culture, and communicate in a better way.

Designed for all health care practitioners, this course is a collaborative project developed by the Division of Continuing Medical Education, College of Medicine, and Continuing Physical Therapy Education, University of Saskatchewan, with assistance from the Canadian Medical Protective Association.

The content was created by Indigenous community members and scholars, some of whom are the on-line instructors. It is designed from an indigenous world view, delivered through the voices and stories of leaders in Indigenous health care. Upon completion, health care practitioners will be equipped with the knowledge and insights to employ an interdisciplinary approach in understanding and supporting indigenous patients.

Provides virtual education at no cost to health care providers working in First Nation communities

Loading ...

Request an Article

If an article you want is not in the SHIRP collection, we can get it for you free of charge from another library.

Contact Us

SHIRP Office's picture
SHIRP Office
Contact:
Leslie and Irene Dubé Health Sciences Library, University of Saskatchewan,
104 Clinic Place, Saskatoon, SK S7N 2Z4
(306) 966-8290